jewelry, paintings, illustrations, art politics and the man behind it all

>On Top of Ole Haystack

>
One of my fondest memories of my childhood in Nortern Maine is my family’s yearly August hike up Haystack Mountain. It was only 1,100 feet up, but from the perspective of a child, it was quite steep. One year my amazing grandmother, (riddled with cancer and weak from her treatments) made the trek with us against all odds. She was quite a woman and really didn’t want to let me or my cousin Jennifer down.

I named the bracelet “on top of ole haystack” because in August, on top of that mountain is an abundant wild blueberry patch. Jennifer and I always looked forward to that sweet reward awaiting us at the end of our climb.

I miss those simpler times.

This bracelet is available on my etsy site.

Leave a Reply

