jewelry, paintings, illustrations, art politics and the man behind it all

Falls Creek Falls, winter has come…

This Monday I returned to one of my all time favorite (perhaps my most favorite) hikes – Falls Creek Falls, just outside Carson, Washington. My friend Seasons and I hike most Mondays and Fridays and it has saved both of our lives. It takes at least an hour and twenty minutes to travel there from Portland and during the Spring and Summer the last 2 miles of that are on a gravel road. In the winter months a gate closes and you must add 4 miles RT to your hike on that very same gravel road. Many people choose not to do this. This makes the hike even more magical. In the summer I often wade in the river, I scale the root ladder and wall so that I might experience every layer the falls have to offer. Sometimes, if I get an early enough start I can venture into the wetlands behind the falls with hills that almost appear painted. This time, though – things went a little differently. You see, every time I do this hike I experience it from a different angle, I discover something new. My friend Drew often makes fun of my affinity for the hike, saying (in a sexy voice because I think he’s kind of hot. And a fireman) “oh, you hiked? Where? Falls Creek Falls?” He’s a bit of a shit, but he is not wrong. I go to the same spot more than any other in the Pacific Northwest. This time there was a light layer of snow on the ground – from 2-4 inches. It changed things greatly. It slowed us down enough that our late start forced us to turn back early. It gets dark in the woods by 4 PM in the winter months and the temperature drops quickly. This time we decided to just enjoy the rushing, rain engorged river, the light snow, the sun cascading into the snow through the thick cedars, fir and pine trees. This still managed to reach almost 7 miles and in the snow that was no slouch of a hike. At one point I ran around a snowy clearing in a circular pattern and looked down to discover that I was following dog tracks precisely. So. I turn into a dog in the woods. Next time we will get an earlier start and the pictures will wow you even more.

  
Also, I left an iced americano with vanilla and cream close to the vehicle. My entire hike back to the car was filled with thoughts of it’s creamy deliciousness. But my reunion with the tasty beverage was thwarted. A chipmunk discovered the surprise treat and guzzled it down. You might say I hiked and shared a coffee with a chipmunk. And that, my friends – is how you do Monday. 

  

Leave a Reply

