jewelry, paintings, illustrations, art politics and the man behind it all

Top 7, my favorite Portland, Oregon Area waterfalls

#1 FALLS CREEK – I genuinely have a wildly different experience each time I visit. 

#2 SPIRIT – This hike can be a bit of a chore and the last time I visited I was stung by 5 yellow jackets. I thought of dropping her down the list, but her beauty wouldn’t be denied.

This place is incredibly magical all year, long, but late fall is my absolute favorite 

#3 ABIQUA – Two separate hikes are here that lead to the top and bottom of this beauty. Also a bit of a labour in the descent to both spaces, but the views are well worth it.

#4 TAMANAWAS – The thunderous melody made by this sexy waterfall actually makes me sway when I hear it.

#5 WEISENDANGER (currently closed) 

This waterfall was a casualty in the recent Eagle Creek fire. The falls are on the Multnomah Loop along with several others. No word on when the trail will reopen, but I am certain her beauty will endure. 

#6 PANTHER CREEK – The hike here is quite simple to the first viewpoint, but you can have 3 very different experiences here if you put in a little work.

I am Always, Always filled with energy at this space.

#7 WAHCLELLA (closed) – Wahclella was my introduction to the hiking world in Oregon. For that reason, and for the power behind this gem – keep it on the list. SADLY, her trail is also closed now, another casualty of the Eagle Creek Fire.

Leave a Reply

